Metallica Reveals 'S&M2' Details, Shares 2 Songs & Reveals Official Trailer

Last year on September 6 and 8, 2019, Metallica and The San Francisco Symphony reunited for the 20th anniversary of the original S&M concert, and showcased new renditions of songs written and released since the first 1999 concerts. This August, the band is celebrating S&M2 with the release of Metallica and San Francisco Symphony: S&M2, and have shared two tracks with its pre-order: "All Within My Hands" and "Nothing Else Matters."

Metallica and San Francisco Symphony: S&M2 is set to be released on August 28th, and is available in multiple formats including a digital album (on all leading streaming platforms), a 4LP vinyl, 2CD, DVD and Blu-ray, and a limited edition color vinyl 4LP + 2CD + Blu-ray Deluxe Box which also includes sheet music, guitar picks, a poster and more. There is also an exclusive Super Deluxe Box (limited to 500 copies) that features actual sheet music used by the San Francisco Symphony during the shows that have been hand-signed by all four band members.

So, if you missed the S&M2 shows, or you just want to relive it — here's your chance to experience these epic concerts.

During the sold-out S&M2 concerts, 40,000 fans from almost 70 different countries witnessed the band's James Hetfield, Lars Ulrich, Kirk Hammett and Robert Trujillo perform with the nearly 80-person San Francisco Symphony, legendary Musical Director of the orchestra Michael Tilson Thomas and conductor Edwin Outwater.

See below for the trailer and detailed track listings and configurations for Metallica & San Francisco Symphony: S&M2.


- Deluxe Box (limited edition 4LP color vinyl, exclusive photobook, 2CDs, Blu-ray, sheet music, five guitar picks, poster, download card)

- Super Deluxe Box (all of the above + original sheet music signed by the band. Limited to 500 via

- Black 4LP set with photobook and download card

- Color 4LP set with photobook and download card (exclusive to indie retail +

- 2CD set w/36-page booklet

- 2CD/Blu-ray set w/36-page booklet

- 2CD/DVD set w/36-page booklet

- Blu-Ray


- Digital Album

- Digital Movie

Track Listings:


1. "The Ecstasy of Gold"

2. "The Call of Ktulu"

3. "For Whom the Bell Tolls"


1. "The Day that Never Comes"

2. "The Memory Remains"

3. "Confusion"


1. "Moth Into Flame"

2. "The Outlaw Torn"


1. "No Leaf Clover"

2. "Halo on Fire"


1. Intro to "Scythian Suite"

2. "Scythian Suite, Opus 20 II: The Enemy God and the Dance of the Dark Spirits"

3. Intro to "The Iron Foundry"

4. "The Iron Foundry, Opus 19"

5. "The Unforgiven III"


1. "All Within My Hands"

2. "(Anesthesia) - Pulling Teeth"

3. "Wherever I May Roam"


1. "One"

2. "Master of Puppets"


1. "Nothing Else Matters"

2. "Enter Sandman"

CD 1

1. "The Ecstasy of Gold (Live)"

2. "The Call of Ktulu (Live)"

3. "For Whom the Bell Tolls (Live)

4. "The Day That Never Comes (Live)"

5. "The Memory Remains (Live)"

6. "Confusion (Live)"

7. "Moth Into Flame (Live)"

8. "The Outlaw Torn (Live)"

9. "No Leaf Clover (Live)"

10. "Halo on Fire (Live)"

CD 2

1. Intro to "Scythian Suite (Live)"

2. "Scythian Suite, Opus 20 II: The Enemy God And The Dance Of The Dark Spirits (Live)"

3. Intro to "The Iron Foundry (Live)"

4. "The Iron Foundry, Opus 19 (Live)"

5. "The Unforgiven III (Live)"

6. "All Within My Hands (Live)"

7. "(Anesthesia) - Pulling Teeth (Live)"

8. "Wherever I May Roam (Live)"

9. "One (Live)"

10. "Master of Puppets (Live)"

11. "Nothing Else Matters (Live)"

12. "Enter Sandman (Live)"


1. Menu (features "Moth Into Flame")

2. Intro (features "Wherever I May Roam" and "All Within My Hands")

3. "The Ecstasy of Gold (Live)"

4. "The Call of Ktulu (Live)"

5. "For Whom the Bell Tolls (Live)"

6. "The Day That Never Comes (Live)"

7. "The Memory Remains (Live)"

8. "Confusion (Live)"

9. "Moth Into Flame (Live)"

10. "The Outlaw Torn (Live)"

11. "No Leaf Clover (Live)"

12. "Halo on Fire (Live)"

13. Intro to "Scythian Suite (Live)"

14. "Scythian Suite, Opus 20 II: The Enemy God And The Dance Of The Dark Spirits (Live)"

15. Intro to "The Iron Foundry (Live)"

16. "The Iron Foundry, Opus 19 (Live)"

17. "The Unforgiven III (Live)"

18. "All Within My Hands (Live)"

19. "(Anesthesia) - Pulling Teeth (Live)"

20. "Wherever I May Roam (Live)"

21. "One (Live)"

22. "Master of Puppets (Live)"

23. "Nothing Else Matters (Live)"

23. "Enter Sandman (Live)"

24. Credits

25. Behind the Scenes: Making of the Show

26. "All Within My Hands" Promo


1. Intro (features "Wherever I May Roam" and "All Within My Hands")

2. "The Ecstasy of Gold (Live)"

3. "The Call of Ktulu (Live)"

4. "For Whom the Bell Tolls (Live)"

5. "The Day That Never Comes (Live)"

6. "The Memory Remains (Live)"

7. "Confusion (Live)"

8. "Moth Into Flame (Live)"

9. "The Outlaw Torn (Live)"

10. "No Leaf Clover (Live)"

11. "Halo on Fire (Live)"

12. Intro to "Scythian Suite (Live)"

13. "Scythian Suite, Opus 20 II: The Enemy God And The Dance Of The Dark Spirits (Live)"

14. Intro to "The Iron Foundry (Live)"

15. "The Iron Foundry, Opus 19 (Live)"

16. "The Unforgiven III (Live)"

17. "All Within My Hands (Live)"

18. "(Anesthesia) - Pulling Teeth (Live)"

19. "Wherever I May Roam (Live)"

20. "One (Live)"

21. "Master of Puppets (Live)"

22. "Nothing Else Matters (Live)"

23. "Enter Sandman (Live)"

24. Credits