The Wavy Awards Are Back - The Most Inclusive Awards Show Ever!

The Wavy Awards is an inclusive awards show amplifying the voices of historically marginalized and often excluded talent such as women, LGBTQ+, BIPOC, non-binary, and artists who identify as having disabilities. Last year, the show garnered nearly 11k views via livestream and was featured in Variety for prioritizing inclusivity and accessibility. This year The Wavys continue to manifest their vision on September 10th at The Abrons Art Center Playhouse Theater located at 466 Grand St. in NYC. 

Non-binary and neuro-diverse artist, Medusa (Wavy Winner/Performer 2021), said “It was the best event I’ve ever had the privilege of attending.” 

Audience member Jia Jung said, “It was history in the making and about damn time.”

The Wavy Awards is supported by the New York City Mayor’s Office of Media and Entertainment and Blonde Records in collaboration with the Music Inclusion Coalition, and partnership with RAMPD (Recording Artists and Music Professional with Disabilities) who provide accessibility consulting.

Accessibility measures including two ASL interpreters, live closed-captioning, ADA seating and audio description will be provided with support from The Mayor’s Office of Media and Entertainment. Strict Covid restrictions will stay in place even if cases drop. And it will be live-streamed on YouTube for free with all access measures baked into one stream.

Grammy award winning bass player Divinity Roxx (Beyoncé) will emcee again, and author and former artist manager Sophia Chang will make an appearance. 

This year’s performers include: MILCK, Brittany Davis, James Ian, Lisa Danae, KiTTN, 4 Wheel City, Konstant, Lachi, Brandon Kazen-Maddox, Scoobert Doobert, Padraic’s Joy, Michael Rider, and Grizzy Wynter.

The nominees come from a pool of talent featured on Wavy Music News hosted by founders of The Wavys and Blonde Records, Rebecca Autumn Sansom and M Vang (M the Myth) and include Valerie June, MILCK, Shea Diamond and many more. Three of this year’s performers are RAMPD members; Lachi, 4 Wheel City and James Ian. 

The Decision Makers include notable industry leaders like Kathleen Hanna (Bikini Kill, Le Tigre), Srishti Das (Midia) and Sheryl Cohen (A2IM). The physical awards are upcycled records provided by The Connextion. 

The artists are sponsored by Xelon Digital, Noisehive, Clarity Events, GigFinesse and more. In-kind donations provided by Radicle Wine, Eargasm and Law Firm Co. Promotional support provided by iHeart Pride. 

This year the awards will be open to the general public with the opportunity to attend a pre-show red-carpet reception at 5pm EST ($15/person), the awards ceremony at 6:30pm EST ($30/person), and an after party in the amphitheater at Abrons ($25/person), so don’t miss out! 

Tickets can be found at

For more information contact

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content